Monster High

Monster High

 

Monster High is an American model doll franchise launched by Mattel in July 2010 in the United States from a series of books of the same name. The characters are inspired by monstrous creatures from fantastic literature. The Monster High each embody a famous monster. They are also accompanied by special episodes for television, the DVD market, and a web-series. The concept of Monster High stars teenagers, all are descendants of famous monsters or creatures. They have a certain sexualization that can give them a Lolita look, and monstrous elements (canines, claws, scars, etc.) which are often used with a certain second degree.

Model dolls measure 20 cm (for girls) or 25 cm (for boys). Their heads and eyes are deliberately oversized. Each character benefits from a different mold for the head. Girls Monster High dolls can remove their hands and arms but boys can only remove their arms. Each character is characterized by a vestimentary style and a range of colors that are found in the different collections. A variety of accessories are built around this universe, wings, jewellery, clothes, bags…

The dolls are aimed to teenagers but also adults through editions and collectors boxes. Their bodies are very different from their competitor Barbie. The size remains excessively fine but the arching accentuates the sexy Lolita style, a small chest and more puny hips correspond better to the current beauty cannons as opposed to his girlfriend descending from the 80s.

Main characters are :

  • Abbey Bominable yeti's daughter
  • Clawdeen Wolf werewolf daughter
  • Cleo De Nile mummy's daughter
  • Draculaura Dracula's daughter
  • Frankie Stein Frankenstein daughter
  • Ghoulia Yelps zombie's daughter
  • Lagoona Blue Sea monster daughter

The customization of Monster High is quite different from that of BJD and Pullips. The eyes are completely drawn and it is necessary to recreate them completely to change the Custo. The hair is also not implanted on wigs but directly into the doll’s skull. To change the hair, you must remove this implantation gently and re-root the doll or create a custom Wig.

The Monster High OOAK are truly marvelous when compared to their industrial version!

 

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

en_GBEnglish

Les Monster High

Les Monster High

 

Monster High est une franchise américaine de poupées mannequins lancée par Mattel en juillet 2010 aux États-Unis tirée d’une série de livres du même nom. Les personnages sont inspirés de créatures monstrueuses issues de la littérature fantastique. Les Monster High incarnent chacune un monstre. Elles s’accompagnent également d’épisodes spéciaux pour la télévision et le marché DVD, et d’une web-série. Le concept de Monster High met en scène des adolescents tous descendants de monstres ou de créatures célèbres, d’une certaine sexualisation qui peut leur donner un air lolita, et d’éléments monstrueux (canines, griffes, cicatrices…) qui sont souvent utilisés avec un certain second degré.

Les poupées mannequins mesurent 20 cm (pour les filles) ou 25 cm (pour les garçons). Leurs têtes et leurs yeux sont volontairement surdimensionnés. Chaque personnage bénéficie d’un moule différent pour la tête. Les poupées filles Monster High peuvent enlever leurs mains et bras mais les garçons ne peuvent enlever que leurs bras. Chaque personnage est caractérisé par un style vestimentaire et une gamme de couleurs qui se retrouvent dans les différentes collections. Une panoplie d’accessoires s’articule autour de cet univers, ailes, bijoux, vêtements, sacs…

Les poupées s’adressent aux adolescents mais aussi aux adultes grâce à des éditions et coffrets collectors. Leur corps est très différent de sa concurrente Barbie. La taille reste excessivement fine mais la cambrure accentue le coté lolita sexy, une petite poitrine et des hanches plus chétives correspondent mieux aux canons de beauté actuels par opposition à sa copine descendant des années 80.

Les héroïnes principales sont :

  • Abbey Bominable (fille du yéti)
  • Clawdeen Wolf (fille d’une loup garou)
  • Cleo De Nile (fille de momie)
  • Draculaura (fille de Dracula )
  • Frankie Stein (fille de Frankenstein)
  • Ghoulia Yelps (fille d’un zombie)
  • Lagoona Blue (fille d’un monstre marin)

La customisation de Monster High est assez différente de celle des BJD et Pullips. Les yeux étant dessinés entièrement il faut les recréer complètement pour changer la custo. Les cheveux eux aussi ne sont pas implantés sur perruque mais directement dans le crâne de la poupée. Pour changer ses cheveux il faut donc retirer cette implantation délicatement et rerooter la doll ou lui créer une wig sur mesure.

Les Monster High OOAK sont de vraies merveilles quand on les compare à leur version industrielle !

 

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*