Blythes

Blythes

Blythe appears in the '70s. Very early for their time the blythes were marketed for a single year in the United States, Australia and Japan in 1972 before falling into oblivion. The original doll produced by Kenner became a cult among collectors and photographers many years later thanks to the design of Allison Katzman who wanted to compete with the famous Barbie.

For this, she invented an attractive system of eyes color changing on the doll inspired by Betty Boop.

In 1997, Blythe become the star of an advertising campaign for a store chain. Following that, it won the heart of the popular youth people and finally took its place.

In 2001, Hasbro gave Takara in Japan and CWC, a license to produce the New Blythe Edition: the Neo-Blythe.

There are several sizes of Blythe but only the original has the system on the eyes. Its price can vary from a few tens of eros to several hundred, or even much more for dolls dating back to 1972!

Unfortunately there are many copies (Blybe, Basaak and CCE Dolls) and forgeries of the Blythe doll.
Counterfeits are often found on Ebay, but of course you won’t have the authentic doll, its quality or its aesthetics… For copying, brands have tried to use the Blythe style to attract an already conquered audience, and here again we find lower quality dolls at very competitive prices, but also very fragile with a body far from Blythe's one and a much less pleasant rendering.

A special Blythe was even redesigned and adapted by the legitimate brand to be integrated into the world of Littlest PetShop. The commercial approach is original but the doll is much less crunchy than its alpha.

 

Blythes in 1972

Plus sur les Blythe

en_GBEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_GBEnglish

Les Blythes

Les Blythes

Blythe apparaît dans les années 70’s. Très en avance pour leur époque les Blythes ont été commercialisées durant une seule année aux États-Unis, en Australie et au Japon en 1972 avant de tomber dans l’oubli. La poupée originale produite par la société Kenner devient culte auprès des collectionneurs et des photographes des années plus tard grâce au design d’Allison Katzman qui cherchait à rivaliser avec la fameuse Barbie.

Pour cela elle à inventé un système attrayant d’yeux changeants de couleur sur la poupée inspirée de Betty Boop.

C’est en 1997, suite à une campagne publicitaire pour une chaîne de grands magasins dont Blythe est la star, qu’elle gagne le cœur d’une jeunesse populaire et se fait enfin une place.

En 2001, Hasbro donne à Takara au Japon et CWC une licence pour produire la Nouvelle Édition de Blythe : la Néo-Blythe.

Il existe plusieurs tailles de Blythe mais seule l’originale possède le système sur les yeux. Son prix peux varier de quelques dizaines d’eros à plusieurs centaines, voire beaucoup plus pour les poupées datant de 1972 !

Malheureusement il existe de nombreuses copies ( Blybe, Basaak et Cce dolls) et contrefaçons de la Blythe.
Les contrefaçons se trouvent souvent sur Ebay mais évidement vous n’aurez ni la poupée authentique ni sa qualité ni son rendu esthétique… Pour le copies, ce sont des marques qui ont cherché à utiliser le style Blythe pour attirer un public déjà conquis, et là encore on retrouve des poupées de moindre qualité à prix très compétitif, mais aussi très fragiles avec un corps éloigné de celui des Blythe et un rendu beaucoup moins agréable.

Une Blythe spéciale à même été redessinée et adaptée par la marque légitime pour être intégrée à l’univers des Littlest PetShop. La démarche commerciale est originale mais la poupée bien moins craquante que son alpha.

 

Les Blythes en 1972

Plus sur les Blythe