The BJD

The Ball Jointed Dolls - BJD

 

HISTORY

Newcomers for adults, these resin dolls created in the early 1990s by the Volks company can be collected and customized. Their name comes from the attachement system of their limbs. They are connected by elastics (spherical joints), a creation of french origin ! First exclusively sculpted and produced in Japan, they have been exported since the 2000s to China, Korea, the United States and Europe via the Internet and international resellers. In recent years, more and more BJD creators/sculptors have been found outside Japan, to the delight of original doll lovers.

 

CREATORS

In France we find a number of BJD artists who delight us with rare and elegant models. These dolls are a real medium of creation, imagination and can be customized infinitely according to each person’s desires and universes. They are often true marvels of work, meticulousness, inventiveness and it is impossible not to have your favourite!

VARIETY 

BJD exist in several sizes that vary from less than 10 cm to more than 80 cm.

  • Super Dollfie (SD) : About 60 cm, 1/3 scale.
  • Mini Super Dollfie (MSD) : About 42 cm, 1/4 scale.
  • Yo Super Dollfie (YoSD) : About 27 cm, 1/6 scale.
  • Tiny : About 16 cm, 1/12 scale.

However, there are BJD much larger (90 cm) and also much smaller!

They can have very varied forms: human, imaginary, animal…

CUSTOMIZATION

The personalization is done by choosing the eyes, wig (wig), makeup (make-up), clothes and accessories (outfit). This can be done by the creator, by the owner or in commission by a third person. Clothing and jewellery dress the character, and by the possible modifications in the mass that can be made by adding (polymer clay to make horns, elven ears, etc.) or by removing (engraving, opening of eyes, etc.). There are so many possibilities, the hardest thing will be to decide!

COUNTERFEIT

Today there is a real black spot in the BJD universe. These precious objects are now the target of counterfeiters. These malicious people steal the artists creations to make illegal copies that are sold at discount prices on the internet not without consequences. This activity kills BJD creators. To learn more visit our article about RECAST.

More on BJD's

Buy yours !

You can support creators by adopting an original BJD.

There are many official reseller shops around the world. You can also buy directly from designers.

some nice links!

en_GBEnglish

Les BJD

Les Ball Jointed Dolls - ou BJD

 

 Nouvelles venues destinées aux adultes, ces poupées en résine créées au début des années 90 par la compagnie Volks se collectionnent et se customisent à volonté. Leur nom provient du système d’attache de leurs membres reliés par des élastiques (articulations sphériques), une création d’origine… française ! D’abord exclusivement sculptées et produites au Japon, elles s’exportent depuis les années 2000 vers la Chine, la Corée, les Etats-Unis et l’Europe via Internet et les revendeurs internationaux. Depuis quelques années, on trouve de plus en plus de créateurs/sculpteurs de BJD hors du Japon, pour la plus grande joie des amateurs de poupées originales.

En France on trouve un certain nombre d’artistes de BJD qui nous ravissent avec des modèles rares et élégants. Ces poupées sont un réel support de création, d’imagination et peuvent être customisées à l’infini selon les désirs et univers de chacun. Elles sont souvent de véritables merveilles de travail, de méticulosité, d’inventivité et il est impossible de ne pas avoir sa chouchoute !

 Les BJD existent en plusieurs tailles qui varient de moins de 10 cm à plus de 80 cm.

  • Taille Super Dollfie (SD) : Environ 60 cm, à l’échelle 1/3.
  • Taille Mini Super Dollfie (MSD) : Environ 42 cm, à l’échelle 1/4.
  • Taille Yo Super Dollfie (YoSD) : Environ 27 cm, à l’échelle 1/6.
  • Tiny : Environ 16 cm, à l’échelle 1/12.

Il existe cependant des BJD bien plus grandes (90 cm) et aussi bien plus petites !

La personnalisation se fait par le choix des yeux, de la perruque (wig), du maquillage (make-up) qui peut être réalisée par le créateur, par le propriétaire ou par commission par une tierce personne, des vêtements et bijoux habillent le personnage, et par les éventuelles modifications dans la masse que l’on peut réaliser part ajout (pâte polymère pour faire cornes, oreilles d’elfes…) ou par retrait (gravure, ouverture des yeux…). Tellement de possibilités que le plus dur sera de vous décider !